April eNewsletter

April has more spring than a gamboling lamb this month. Bouncing with brilliant book ideas and more, we have pulled out all the stops to recommend some top notch reads for your blossoming readers of all tastes, ages and abilities. In the month that hosts World Book Night, there’s an exciting array of books for boys and girls to enjoy anywhere from the bus to school to bedtime! Read on for more.

Frank Talking! – Frank Cottrell Boyce. Author of the Month

Remember the awesome, uplifting, incredible opening ceremony of the 2012 Olympic Opening Ceremony? Frank Cottrell Boyce wrote it. He did! He’s also written some cracking books for kids including the award winning Millions.

With a Guardian Children’s Fiction prize under his belt, his books are top-drawer: Books like, The Astounding Broccoli Boy (9+) – a hugely enjoyable tale of an unlikely superhero. His latest, Sputnik’s Guide to Life on Earth, is an hilarious and thought-provoking, out-of-this-world adventure about family, friendship and appreciating everything that you have. See these and all his other titles here!

7912

Cream of the Crop! – April Books of the Month

All of the best books for kids this month, lovingly hand-picked and compiled into one easy section for you to choose from. Books like:

Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden (9+) Fans of Eoin Colfer and Rick Riordan will love this new Heroic adventure series set in a shadowy world of dark magic. As one of our Kid Reviewers said … ‘An absolutely awesome fantasy book’

and

Flawed by Cecilia Ahern – The debut YA novel from mega selling adult novelist set in a world where perfection is everything. This will really get you thinking!

0
91214
14ya

First things First! – Debuts of the Month

Finding a new favourite author is a joy for kids and for us – it makes present buying so much easier! These are the best of the newbies who are set to be much loved companions!

A real favourite is We Are All Made of Molecules (13+) by Susin Nielsen – One of our Books of the Year in 2015 and now in paperback. A wonderful, relatable teen tale. ‘… happy, funny, sad, tear-jerking and thought-provoking. I enjoyed the way it dealt with important issues in a light-hearted style.’ (Thora, aged 13).

Also, don’t miss The Reluctant Journal of Henry K Larsen, Nielsen’s second eagerly awaited novel which is a heart-breaking story that manages to make readers laugh and leave them feeling better about the world.

And…

Nibbles the Book Monster by Emma Yarlett (3+) – Exquisitely illustrated, hungry romp through some favourite fairytales … but Nibbles seems to have munched his way through some of the pages – it’s awesome. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner (YA) – Southern gothic story about small-town small-mindedness, religious fanaticism, family demons and the redemptive power of friendship. This is a gem!
0 ya
5914ya

Get Out! – Out and About

Now is the time to get kids enjoying the great outdoors! Some of the best memories are made on hazy days in the open air. This category gives kids compelling reasons to put down the tablet and venture out. Check out, Nature’s Day Activity Book written by Kay Maguire and illustrated by Danielle Kroll (5+, 7+) a stunning book showing children how they can interact with their surroundings.

Also, learn about the plight of the bumblebee with Bee and Me by Alison Jay published by the awesome Old Barn, a Publisher of the Month in 2015.

Animal Magic! – The Wildwitch Series (9+)

When Lene Kaaberbol’s first Wildwitch title Wildfire hit the shelves, kids everywhere were enthralled by the story and the wonderful heroine at its heart. Reader reviewers exclaimed: “… a truly amazing story” and “I loved it so much, I read it all in one go”. Well, ‘out of the mouths’ and all that! The 2nd title, Oblivion is out this month and just like the first, it connects with our human need for tales of heroism and bravery. Dive head first into this modern classic, but try not to read it too quickly. The wait until the Summer for no.3 will be unbearable!

Eccle-share the love! – Julia Eccleshare’s Top Picks for April

Taking the ‘share’ in her name seriously, Guardian Children’s Book Editor and friend of Lovereading, Julia Eccleshare has agreed to share her top tips for great reads every month. Here’s who’s eating at the top table this month:

0579

Love Across and Among the Stars

Coming later this month from the pen of the multi-million copy selling author of Noughts and Crosses Calorie Blackman,  comes a heart-rending story of love and space exploration set in 2164 AD around the 600th anniversary of Shakespeare’s birth.

Chasing the Stars is a brilliant reworking of one of Shakespeare’s plays which in turn is one of the oldest and greatest love stories ever told. You can read an exclusive early extract now right here.

Geek Girl Fest!

The phenomenon that is Geek Girl by ex model Holly Smale continues to get bigger and better and we love it! The 5th in the series, Head Over Heels, is just out and we thought it a perfect time to showcase them all.

Meet Dinosaurs Face to Face

As the title makes clear, this fascinating book illustrates prehistoric creatures at actual size or, where the creature was simply too big to fit on the page, a part of the animal at actual size, like the head of a velociraptor. The collage-style illustrations are beautiful in themselves, and this book really has the wow factor that we think will make it an instant hit.

P.S. – Jungle Book is Back!

With the much awaited release of the A-list star-studded Jungle Book film, don’t miss our special category dedicated to all things Jungle Book. Kipling’s timeless classic gets new life in a memory-lane love-in for you and your man-cubs! Find out more in our special category.

Comments are closed.


LoveReading.co.uk Privacy Policy Disclaimer