Mid-May eNewsletter

Welcome to our mid-May update full of the latest, best and most exciting Children’s books. And whatever you do don’t miss the shortlist for the most prestigious children’s debut fiction award, the Branford Boase.

     

Mid-May Highlights

These are the hand-picked heroes of the month that you may have missed. We love: The Treasure of Pirate Frank (3+) illustrated by Jez Tuya – An imaginative tale of friendship, courage, sharing and treasure! And The Imagination Box Series (9+) by Martyn Ford – Mind-expanding, action-packed comedy adventures.

0579
912ya

A Little Bit of What YOU Like! – Reader Recommended Highlights

Who better to recommend books than the kids and teenagers who read them? These are the top tips from the horses’ mouth! Books like:

The Bombs That Brought Us Together (11+) by Brian Conaghan – Thought-provoking and entertaining dystopian drama. ‘I was so glued to this book’ (Jack, aged 11) The Crystal Run (11+) by Shelia O’ Flanagan – High-octane, heart-rending high-stakes fantasy quest with compelling action in a vividly evoked world. The Island at the End of Everything (9+) by Kiran Millwood-Hargrave – A beautifully told story of courage and hope full of memorable scenes and characters.
12 12 9
Where the World Ends (9+) by Geraldine McCaughrean – An unmissable totally original, mesmerising story of love and faith; of myth and imagination. Lottie Solves a Mystery (5+) by Lucie Braveheart – A brilliant and different outdoorsy adventure story featuring real life rather than fantastical adventures.
9 5

Gods and Monsters! Rick Riordan’s Trials of Apollo

Redefining the epic ancient god sagas for 9+ readers, Rick Riordan stands alone in the genre. The creator of Percy Jackson, the unwitting teenage demi-god with greatness thrust upon him, has turned his unique talent to imagining a full God among us.

A teenage Apollo, in disgrace for angering father Zeus, is cast down to modern day New York as a lowly teenager to face gargantuan and often hilarious tasks: with a little help from his friends! The series began with The Hidden Oracle and continues with The Dark Prophecy. Find out more

Get Infected! – Contagion by Teri Terry

Author of the international sensation, Slated, Teri Terry is deservedly regarded as the queen of the teenage psychological thriller. Her vivid imagination and the well-oiled wheels in the dark corners of her mind have been working overtime recently to produce her new extraordinary trilogy Dark Matter.

The first book, Contagion is a tale of survival against all odds in a desperately dangerous world of fear, alienation and suspicion. Find out more.

Award-winning Aubrey is back!

Horatio Clare’s first children’s book Aubrey and the Terrible Yoot  won the Branford Boase Award and Michael Morpurgo said of it ‘Well, this was a joy! Here is writing and storytelling at its best’.

The sequel Aubrey and the Terrible Ladybirds tells an entertaining tale of how Aubrey uses his gift of talking to animals to try and save the world! Funny and gripping! I loved this book! Lewis (10)… This book is awesome and gave me a different view about insects Erica (11). Find out more.

     

Why Wait? – More May Pre-Publication Exclusives

Dip your toe in the wondrous waters of ‘wow’-inducing works before they hit the shelves! Books like:

Troublemakers (13+) by Catherine Barter – A searingly heart-breaking coming-of-age tale set against an all too plausible backdrop of terrorism and political darkness. After the Fire (YA) by Will Hill – Inspired by the Waco siege in Texas 1993 and one of the most gripping and suspenseful books they’ll read all year. Never Say Die (11+) by Anthony Horowitz  – Alex Rider is back for more adrenaline-filled, action-packed, stylish and addictive adventures.
14 ya 12

Pictures Win Prizes! The Klaus Flugge Prize for Illustration

Klaus Flugge is one of the greats of children’s publishing. Born in 1934, in 1976, he set up his own publishing company, Andersen Press, named in tribute to none other than Hans Christian Andersen. He continues to champion bold, original and creative talent with a prize to honour the best of them. The Klaus Flugge Prize rewards the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s book illustration and the shortlist has just been announced! Find out more and don’t miss the chance to win all the shortlisted titles.

Patchwork Works! – Elmer the Elephant

27 May is Elmer Day! First published a whopping 28 years ago, David McKee’s multi-coloured and much-loved, Elmer the Elephant is still a firm favourite among 2-5-year-olds!

There are so many wonderful, colourful and educational stories to choose from. Plus, all the stories come in a variety of formats; from buggy books and button pressing books, to touch and feel versions. There’s a lot of elephants to go around! Get more.

What Next? If they Like They’ll Love

Our If They Like They’ll Love category points the way to other authors just like the ones your kids love, so they won’t wearily wonder where to turn when their favourite book ends.

If they like Frank Cottrell Boyce they’ll love The Incredible Billy Wild (9+) by Joanna Nadin. If they like Jon Klassen they’ll love The Cave (3+) by Rob Hodgson. If they like Sarah Crossan they’ll love Countless (13+) by Karen Gregory.
9 0 14
If they like Louise Rennison they’ll love Chloe Snow’s Diary (13+) by Emma Chastain. If they like Squishy Mcfluff they’ll love Cowboy Pug by Laura James.
14 5

Good Enough for Julia!

Lovereading4kids Editor-at-Large Julia Eccleshare is well placed to identify the best books for budding readers out there right now. Click here to see what’s caught her eye this month.

Living like Clockwork – The Cogheart Adventure Series (9+)

A tick-tocking and often airborne adventure that sees a girl searching for her missing father. Accompanied by a clockwork fox (designed by her dad before he went missing).

The Cogheart Series by Peter Bunzl have been described by our reader reviewers as ‘ … a thrilling, magical journey of adventure … (that) will leave you spinning’ (Isabella, aged 11) and ‘A steampunk fantasy … that had me gripped with its brilliantly woven characters and cast of mechanical wonders’ (Rohan aged 10).

Latest title Moonlocket is out now and you can find it here.

     

No Binoculars Needed!

 The Big Bird Spot (5+) by Matt Sewell

Wildlife artist Matt Sewell’s very first children’s book is a super fun foray into the world of birds. From deserts to woodland and oceans to mountains you’ll love trying to spot the hidden birds (it’s harder than you think) and learning loads about them.

Colourful, vividly detailed and with so much to see, it’s a book to treasure time and time again.

Every Dad has his Day – This Year it’s 17 June! Father’s Day

A day for all dads to get the love they deserve, Father’s Day is just a month away. What better way to show you care than a good book and the peace and quiet to read it in? Or just the book. Up to you. We have a superlative selection of super ideas for Dads and you can find them here!

Well Versed! – Our Poetry Section, Refreshed

Our poetry section is filled to the brim with words to inspire kids of all ages, covering all kinds of subjects from the fun to the philosophical. This month we’ve added to the party with fabulous new titles like: All Aboard the London Bus (5+) by Patty Toht  a jump on, jump-off ride through London and: All the Wild Wonders, Poems of our Earth (7+) by Wendy Cooling, a clever exploration of the wonders and the woes of the world.  There’s something for everyone. Click here to get started.

The Spellslinger Series (YA) is Pure Magic!

Fans of The Guardians of the Galaxy or The Dark Tower will NOT want to miss this! The head-spinning first book of a spell-binding new series! Spellslinger by Sebastien de Castell is a YA fantasy novel that keeps you guessing on every page, filled with wit and adventure and strong characters that you’ll love to follow. Oh, and just a bit of magic too! Rich and compelling and bursting with tricks, it’ll have you on the edge of your seat. Find out more.

Let your child become a Superhero

The Superhero Handbook (7+) written by James Doyle and illustrated by Jason Ford is an unusual information activity book that cleverly mixes science learning with the allure of superhero-dom. The book contains all you need to set yourself up as a superhero, from finding your secret identity to employing a sidekick, plus 20 innovative activities to help you do everything from making yourself invisible to learning to defy gravity. And each activity comes with a ‘Superhero Secret’ showing you the top secret science behind each one. It’ll make for a truly super summer!’

Well, that’s May at Lovereading4 Kids! See you next month for some summery selections for your tribe.

P.S. Don’t miss the chance to win a family pass to The Daily Mail Chalke Valley History Festival, worth £40!, that is running 26 June – 2 July in Wiltshire. It’s full of exciting and absorbing activities for schools and families.

P.P.S Join in the adventures of The Famous Five, relaunched for their 75th birthday and have the chance to win a complete set of 21 books!!

Comments are closed.


LoveReading.co.uk Privacy Policy Disclaimer