Posts Tagged ‘Children’s Book Award’


Sunday, November 26th, 2017

As an early Christmas treat to aspiring writers and to celebrate its tenth year, Chicken House are extending the deadline for this year’s Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition to Wednesday 20th December 2017.
The annual competition – the UK’s most valuable for children’s writers – offers unpublished and unagented writers all over the world the chance to submit their work to Chicken House’s team of readers. One talented writer will win a worldwide publishing contract with Chicken House with a royalty advance of £10,000. We are on the lookout for original ideas, a fresh voice and a story that children will love!
To enter, writers must have written a completed full-length novel suitable for children or young adults aged somewhere between 7 and 18 years. We ask that manuscripts are a minimum of 30,000 and maximum of 80,000 words in length. Entrants can submit either online or via post.
The competition has sparked the careers of many successful children’s authors, such as Sophia Bennett (author of eight children’s books, including her 2009 winning novel Threads), Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison (authors of Lobsters, shortlisted for the inaugural YA book prize and a 2013 competition shortlistee), and Anna Day (author of The Fandom, Chicken House’s fastest-ever-selling foreign rights title and a version of which was shortlisted for the 2014 competition).
Judges last year included Chicken House’s MD Barry Cunningham (known for discovering J.K. Rowling), Times Arts Editor Alex O’Connell, Waterstones children’s buyer Florentyna Martin, and children’s authors Kate Saunders and Katherine Woodfine.
‘Since 2014, we’ve had three books published, seen them translated into more than ten languages, and spoken at literary events from Hay-on-Wye to Utrecht, and it is basically all thanks to the Times/Chicken House competition.’ – Tom Ellen, co-author of Lobsters and Freshers
‘Entering this competition is one of the best decisions I ever made. I was unpublished, unagented, unheard of, and now I’ve just sold my 25th licence … and I didn’t even win!’ – Anna Day, author of The Fandom
FAQs and full terms and conditions of the competition can be found at
For more information, please contact Jazz Bartlett:

January 2016. Major New Children’s Book Award Announced

Friday, January 22nd, 2016

The Klaus Flugge Prize for the Most Exciting Newcomer to Picture Book Illustration

An important new prize in the UK children’s book world is launched today: the Klaus Flugge Prize will be awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s book illustration. It honours venerable publisher Klaus Flugge, a supremely influential figure in picture books: who this year celebrates the 40th anniversary of his publishing house Andersen Press.

It will be the only prize specifically to recognise a published picture book by a debut illustrator; the winning illustrator will receive a cheque for £5,000.

Klaus Flugge was born in Hamburg in 1934, apprenticed to a bookshop and sent to Book Trade School in Leipzig. He emigrated to America at the age of 23 as an East German refugee who spoke only German and Russian. After a variety of jobs, and two years as an American GI, he was offered a job working as a Personal Assistant to Lew Schwartz, owner of Abelard-Schuman publishing in New York. After only a year and a half Schwartz suggested he go to Europe to build up the very small list they had there and came to London in 1961. He launched Andersen Press – named after Hans Christian Andersen – in the autumn of 1976.

The roll call of artists Klaus Flugge has worked with at Andersen Press reads like a textbook on illustration: David McKee, Tony Ross, Satoshi Kitamura, Michael Foreman, Susan Varley, Emma Chichester Clark, Sir Quentin Blake, Chris Riddell, Ruth Brown and David Lucas to name but a very few.

The prize, which will be run entirely independently from Andersen Press, will be administered by Julia Eccleshare, Anne Marley and Andrea Reece, who run the Branford Boase Award for debut authors, now in its seventeenth year. Julia Eccleshare said: “The UK has long provided a home for some of the very best illustrators in the world, and UK publishers are adept at discovering and nurturing new talent. It is wonderful to have an award to highlight the gifted illustrators working in picture books and put them in the spotlight. We are delighted too that the award will recognise the extraordinary contribution Klaus Flugge has made to illustration and children’s picture books. Not only did he launch the careers of giants such as David McKee, Tony Ross, Ruth Brown, Chris Riddell and Satoshi Kitamura, but he continues to this day to champion original, creative and bold new illustrator talent.”

The Klaus Flugge Prize will be open to all picture books illustrated by a debut or first time illustrator first published by a UK publisher during 2015.  The panel of judges will be announced in February when submissions will open. The shortlist will be announced at the end of April and the winner will be revealed in September 2016. Privacy Policy Disclaimer