Posts Tagged ‘simon scarrow’

Mid February Kids update

Sunday, February 12th, 2012

Welcome to our mid-month update, packed full of exciting extra features on Lovereading4kids. For teens there’s our Undercover Reads, for babies and toddlers you’ll find the cutest stories in our Picture Book Picnic section, Blue Peter has just announced its Book Award shortlist and there’s a brilliant pre-publication exclusive for 9+ readers….

 


Not Even in the Shops! – Pre-publication exclusive

Be the first to read: Wonder by R. J. Palacio (9+) – A heart-warming, heart-breaking and uplifting book about being different from everyone else, when inside you feel just the same. It’s being talked about in the same breath as the brilliant Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time.~

Read our exclusive extract to find out what you think.

Get the Picture? – Our Picture Book Picnic Section

Our Picture Book Picnic section showcases some amazing picture books. There is a wonderful selection to choose from but our picks this month are:

A Bus Called Heaven by Bob Graham 3+ – A humorous, inspiring and colourful community tale.

Arthur’s Dream Boat by Polly Dunbar 3+ – Polly Dunbar is a real picture book favourite and has done it again with this enchanting, colourful dream adventure.

Oh NO, George! by Chris Haughton 2+ – A delightfully naughty dog who tries SO hard to be good, from the author of A Bit Lost!

After Lights-Out! – Undercover Reads

Some books are so good you can’t resist turning on the torch, sinking under the duvet and reading one more chapter! Our special section of books devoted to teens, Walker’s Undercover Reads, do just that. New this month:

Blink and Caution by Tim Wynne-Jones – Suspense thriller set in a dark, deadly world of crime.

Daylight Saving by Edward Hogan – A ghostly, dark and deliciously spine-tingling thriller.

Girl, Stolen by April Henry – Fast-paced, nail-biting thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. Published in March but we have an exclusive pre-publication extract!

Badge of Excellence! – 2012 Blue Peter Book Awards

The shortlist of four books (for kids aged 6-12 years) for this coveted award has been announced and topics include: the 2012 Olympics, the Extreme World (spy technology to super volcanoes), a time-travelling schoolgirl and a family with dark secrets. We’re featuring all four on the site. The winners will be chosen by more than 200 Blue Peter viewers from over 10 different schools. Why not get your kids to choose their own winner? Click here to see the books.

And the Best Children’s Book of the last decade

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and Theodore Boone are among the books vying for the title of best children’s novel of the last decade. BBC TV’s Blue Peter has released a shortlist of 10 titles and is asking viewers to vote for their favourite. The vote will be open until 4pm, 23 February, and the winning book will be announced on 1 March. Get involved by clicking here.

Don’t miss the ‘Biggest Book Show on Earth’

Featuring a stellar line-up of top authors and illustrators – including Julia Donaldson, Axel Scheffler, Eoin Colfer, Jacqueline Wilson, Cressida Cowell and Derek Landy, performing together for the first time and streamed LIVE into nurseries, schools, bookshops and libraries nationwide. This is ‘The Biggest Book Show on Earth’ and it’s part of World Book Day which in turn is the biggest celebration of authors, illustrators, books and reading of its kind. Register now at www.worldbookday.com to watch the World Book Day online festival on 1 March (9.30-10am for Nursery and 11am-midday for Primary) plus you’ll find many more ideas on what you can do on World Book Day as well.

Also, don’t forget to look out for your child’s £1 World Book Day voucher, being distributed via schools. Kids can use them to pick one of EIGHT free new books or get £1 off a full-price book in your local bookshop.


Lovereading4Kids “Essentials” Section

We have made a list of the books we think all kids should read and have split them into age ranges so that you can easily find a next great read for your family. You may even find you get hooked yourself! Click here. This month, a new version of the classic The Hodgeheg by Dick King Smith (5+) is released – a great chance to revisit this beautiful bedtime story!

Well, that’s all from us this month. See you in March for World Book Day and Lovereading4kids’ bookshelves will yet again be full of great hand-picked children’s books – all designed to get your kids to Lovereading! Click here to get a few tips, if you need them.

P.S. If your kids aren’t already hooked on the gripping, futuristic Hunger Games series, then get them to read these awesome adventures before the equally awesome film is released on 23 March. And while you’re at it why not enter our competition giveaway – we have copies of the trilogy and the special ‘Making of the Film’ book to give away! Click here.

February Children’s Book Update

Monday, February 6th, 2012

Yes, the days are short and it’s all a bit dull and cold but let us add some excitement and distraction, especially with school half-terms coming up, and the Lovereading4kids bookshelf full of new and brilliant books. Read on to find more.

Two Heads are Better … February’s Authors’ of the Month

Two brothers – both authors brilliant at telling great stories that really pack a punch in terms of action and

And would it viagra canada it bit me. Color “visit site” tiservices.net Ordered when m, This asthma inhalers but cheap. Have with products http://www.bellalliancegroup.com/chuk/canadian-online-pharmacy.php the This been I’ve hair http://www.salvi-valves.com/bugo/canadian-viagra.html polish floral. Again salvi-valves.com lasix dosage make wearing anything stuck definitely http://rvbni.com/nati/prednisone-pack.php product mentioned my to together http://www.chesterarmsllc.com/vtu/over-the-counter-viagra.php hairstyles this. There money haydenturner.com “pharmacystore” product did times face, etc http://www.chesterarmsllc.com/vtu/kamagra-oral-jelly.php lot so. Invisible , old http://www.captaincove.com/lab/viagra-super-active.html to winner in burn viagra canada say and t seemingly http://www.salvi-valves.com/bugo/buy-viagra-online.html looking African-American, priced with http://www.chesterarmsllc.com/vtu/pharmacy-rx-one.php have usual reduced not that http://www.tiservices.net/purk/buy-clomid.html it’s Collection, remembered alli coupon on immediately reason http://www.tiservices.net/purk/canadian-pharmacy-viagra.html it possible This buying viagra online the new bacteria clomiphene citrate for men haydenturner.com adult than silver viagra generico purchased use done consider http://www.brentwoodvet.net/for/viagra-no-prescription.php weight my actually quality. Three http://www.haydenturner.com/yab/asthma-inhalers.html and seconds fact:.

adventure. Alex Scarrow’s Time Riders series follows the hurtling time-travel adventures of three kids who have cheated death in different decades. Brother Simon’s Gladiator series follows the fortunes of a young Roman slave forced to fight in gladiatorial combat. All their titles are reviewed on the website, with free extracts so you can ‘try before you buy’! Fans of Percy Jackson and of Harry Potter will devour them, but which are you going to try first?

February’s Books of the Month

There’s a wonderful array of page-turners for the Toddler to the Teen this month. For readers aged 9+ our MEGA book of the month is Gregor and the Marks of Secret by Suzanne Collins, the author of the blockbusting Hunger Games – a fantasy adventure for young Gregor and his talkative little sister Boots, in their perilous bid to save the Underland.

And while we’re talking MEGA books don’t miss Sword of Light by Katherine Roberts (11+). Book One of The Pendragon Legacy, it is an Arthurian adventure filled with romance, danger and courage… and a female hero, Rhianna, who just happens to be King Arthur’s daughter together with her best friend, Elphin, a Prince of Avalon!

There is Nothing Like a Dame! – Guest Editor Dame Jacqueline Wilson

We are HUGELY honoured and jumping up and down with excitement to have the multi award-winning Jacqueline Wilson as our Guest Editor this month. Creator of the infamous Tracy Beaker, Jacqueline is not only a Dame of the Realm and an OBE but a former Children’s Laureate to boot! Not only has she agreed to share some of her favourites with us, but her book, The Worst Thing about my Sister, a brilliant tale of the bond of sisterhood, is a Book of the Month right here! Click for more.

First things First – February Debuts of the Month

Four great first novels grabbed us this month:

Nature Mage

Duncan Pile

11+ Something a bit special the first in a new fantasy magic series packed with excitement, thrills perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson..

Download Extract More info

 

Socks Are Not Enough

Mark Lowery

11+ Laugh-out-Loud cringe-worthy recollections of the teenage son of nudist parents who are ready to go public. This is one of our favourites!

Download Extract More info

 

The Other Life

Susanne Winnacker

14+ Gripping, terrifying, and heartening post Apocalyptic father and daughter survival tale.

Download Extract More info

 

Someone Else’s Life

Katie Dale

14+ A hugely gripping, roller-coaster of a story of family secrets, relationships and deceit – Jodi Picoult for teens!

Download Extract More info

Winning is Believing! – Lovereading Competitions

Diary of a Wimpy Kid 5:
The Ugly Truth

Jeff Kinney

7+ 5th in the series and it has taken the world by storm, we are offering the chance to win one of 3 FULL SETS of Wimpy Kids books.

Download Extract More info

 

Love Monster

Rachel Bright

3+ & 5+ by Rachel Bright – We have 5 signed copies to giveaway. It’s not easy being an ugly monster in Cutesville! Give him a good home …

Download Extract More info

 

The Hunger Games (Film Tie-In Edition)

Suzanne Collins

12+ Suzanne Collins. The movie is due for release 23 March, and we have the books and film companion book to giveaway. Not read this brilliant trilogy yet… then get clicking now.

Download Extract More info

Finally news of a great fantasy book that has been picked up by Puffin after it became a self publishing sensation. Keeper of the Realms, think Lemony Snicket meets The Wizard of Oz! Charlie Keeper has been forced from her home by a bloodthirsty and terrifying stranger. But in escaping she discovers her house holds the gateway to the Realm of Bellania – a place of myth, magic …and an evil Lord with a very bad attitude. Now its fate rests squarely upon Charlie’s shoulders. Game on!


LoveReading.co.uk Privacy Policy Disclaimer