Posts Tagged ‘templar’

Children’s Christmas Books November 20

Tuesday, November 20th, 2012

The Christmas lights are up, adverts are everywhere and the shops are playing the same old Christmas tunes. It’s time to start thinking about Christmas presents. What can you put in their stockings? Where do you start? Well, why not make us your ‘Bookshelf-Elf’? Yes. Elf is on its way! And spend more than £15 and we will give you free 2nd class UK postage. What are you waiting for?

Pre-Publication Exclusives for November

This category is getting increasingly popular and we love sharing news of upcoming books with you. See the shelf below for this month’s books. We are also looking for ten teen readers to review a stunning debut Infinite Sky by C. J. Flood before it’s published in February 2013. We love it – but we want to know what you think!

But be quick you only have until 30 November!

14129

Beautiful Poetry Book and App!

Poetry for a younger audience is often ‘shunted in the realm of schoolwork’ but IF: A Treasury of Poems for Almost Every Possibility by Allie Esiri reminds us of the resonance that particular poems can have throughout our life. A perfect collection of poetry for the whole family to share.

And to make it even more relevant and immediate the poems are available in a wonderful ‘App’ where you can hear some of the poems read by Helena Bonham Carter and Bill Nighy.

Free Prize Draws not to miss

Our Free Prize Draws category is bursting with book goodies up for grabs. From Hogwarts Box sets, and Heritage Classics from Egmont to Beautiful slipcase edition’s of Clarice Bean and exclusive Mr Gum books. Click here to find out more and enter them all!

Win a signed copy of our Mega Book of the Month

From Lemony Snicket comes – All The Wrong Questions – Who Could that be at this Hour? Is a wise-cracking detective story in a topsy turvy world packed with brilliantly weird characters is perfect for 7-11 year olds. As well as reading an exclusive free Opening Extract you can WIN a signed first edition!

Reader reviews of Annabel Pitcher’s novels

Annabel Pitcher’s multi-award winning debut novel My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece was one of our favourites last year and her latest, Ketchup Clouds, is out shortly.

Check out what a number of 11+ year olds thought who were lucky enough to be selected to receive review copies of these books. There’s time to read My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece before Ketchup Clouds is published at the end of December and you can read an exclusive extract of both of them here right now.

Which is your favourite Children’s Book of 2012?

The shortlist of the final children’s book award of the year, sponsored by National Book Tokens, has just been announced – there’s some pirate fun for toddlers and young children right up to 9-12 year olds who will love BBC Presenter Simon Mayo’s all-action adventure that’s perfect for fans of Alex Rider and Young Bond.

559
999

The One Stop Shop for Children’s Classics

Is it time you started collecting a library of children’s classics for your children or grandchildren? Christmas is the perfect time to give them as gifts. If so, you’ve come to the right place. Hardback or paperback, large or small format we have something to suit your needs, and budget, from the best names in Children’s Publishing – Walker, Templar, Puffin, Oxford, Vintage and Egmont. Visit our Children’s Classics category today.

Finally, scroll down to see a taster of our Christmas book for all age ranges or visit the site to see the whole glorious selection.

P.S. With the first Hobbit film, An Unexpected Journey, soon to be in cinemas why not build up the excitement with The Hobbit Companion. Intriguing to the uninitiated, enchanting to the Tolkien enthusiast, The Hobbit Companion can only enhance our enjoyment of this dark, mysterious world created by J. R. R. Tolkien.

Perfect Picture Books, Fascinating Facts and Pre Publication Exclusives

Thursday, April 15th, 2010

We hope you all had a good Easter Break and your children have had a relaxing time off school giving them more time to enjoy reading. In our second book e-zine for April find out more about books to make the most of Spring and Summer, understand the world around us with new fun packed and fact filled category and don’t miss some of the best books for the under 5’s in our Picture Book Parade.

Picture Perfect – the Picture Book Parade

Picture books are of course the way we all start to love books; they often give us warm memories that stay with us our whole lives. Here in the Macmillan Picture Book Parade we’re delighted to be highlighting the work of some of their finest illustrators (including Tim Hopgood, Catherine Rayner, Emily Gravett, Rod Campbell and Nick Sharratt), plus some of their ‘bookshelf essentials’. And don’t forget to enter the Picture Book Parade competition as well to win signed books from a number of their amazing illustrators.

Find out more about these beautiful books today.

Fascinating facts – the universe brought to life for kids!

Fascinating Facts is a new feature on Lovereading4kids which we’re sure you’ll enjoy. To launch we’ve selected the impressive Insider series from Templar, which uses state-of-the-art 3D illustrations that seem to rise up out of the pages, bringing factual information vividly to life.

There are two series aimed at different age groups – the Insiders Alive books for younger readers include visual explorations of the human body and Ancient Egyptians complete with pop-ups, while the series for older children – Insiders – takes in dinosaurs, the universe, and a myriad of other fascinating topics!

Make the most of Spring with your kids – Out and About re-launch

Now the weather’s warming up and Britain is blooming into colourful life again, we’re relaunching our section of books about getting outside and enjoying it. On the Out and About page you’ll find titles on gardening, bird watching and any number of other fresh-air pursuits to share with your children.

And if you like the great outdoors your younger children will love the picture book Where do they go when it Rains? A delightful story featuring a family day out into the countryside. We think this is a truly special picture book.

This month’s highlights not to miss

More Dyslexia Friendly Books

In this special section of the site you can find books to help children who struggle with reading crack the reading code. There are plenty of brilliant short titles (some by very well-known popular authors), that have absolutely no boring bits – their only aim is to help struggling and dyslexic readers grow to love reading!

Find out more about the new books we have added.

The oldest Puffin in the World!

2010 sees Puffin celebrating 70 years. There’s a big birthday bash planned including a Puffin Storytelling Day on 8th May with events planned all over the country click the birthday logo to find out more. And right here on Lovereading4kids there’s a competition to win loads of Puffin goodies.

Be first to read the very best new kids books – Pre-publication exclusives on Lovereading4kids

Monsters of Men

Patrick Ness

The much-anticipated final volume of Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking trilogy is almost here, and you can download a free Opening Extract of it right now on Lovereading4kids! In other exclusive news — Patrick Ness has taken on the task of completing an unfinished novel by celebrated author, Siobhan Dowd, who sadly died of cancer two years ago now. It promises to be amazing.

Download Extract

Buy £11.24 Saving £3.75 (25%)

Mr Gum and the Cherry Tree

Andy Stanton

Mr Gum – the mad, bad and dangerously funny hero of this series – is back with another hilarious adventure!

Download Extract

Buy £4.49 Saving £1.50 (25%)

Meeow and the Pots and Pans

Sebastien Braun

A wonderful, colourful picture book about a playful cat who starts a kitchen orchestra with his friends.

Download Extract

Buy £8.24 Saving £2.75 (25%)

Threads: Beads, Boys and Bangles

Sophia Bennett

A glittery adventure about four girls and their fantastical adventures in fashion.

Download Extract

Buy £5.24 Saving £1.75 (25%)

Ellie and

Oscar: Ellie’s Bad Hair Day

Jerome Keane

A visually sumptuous picture book about a little girl (and her chilled-out pet rabbit) who travel round the world in search of someone else who has the same problems with their hair as she does.

Download Extract

Buy £7.49 Saving £2.50 (25%)

Closer: Tunnels book 4

Roderick Gordon, Brian Williams

The 4th episode in the pacy, page-turning series about the world at the centre of the Earth run by a violent regime. Will is in serious trouble…again!

Download Extract

Buy £5.24 Saving £1.75 (25%)

The Boy who climbed into the moon

David Almond

From the master of magical realism, David Almond, comes a beautifully illustrated children’s book about crackpot notions and sky-high courage!

Download Extract

Buy £7.49 Saving £2.50 (25%)

Havoc

Chris Wooding

Havoc is the second grippingly clever adventure about some real children trapped in a comic book world. If you’ve not read the first book, Malice, we suggest you start with that, as the nail-biting cliff-hanger ending is well worth experiencing before you read this second episode!

Download Extract

Buy £5.99 Saving £2.00 (25%)

More Essential Children’s Books

Some children’s books never seem to lose their charm and to celebrate these we have our ‘Bookshelf Essentials’ – which parents can always turn to for books which we believe have a perennial appeal. This month we have added two republished classics books Up in the Tree by Margaret Attwood and a pop up edition of The Little Mole by Verner Holzwarth to make the category even more essential!

Digital Prize Winners

And who says books and computers don’t mix – think again with Orca’s Song from new publisher Top That which has recently won the Independent Publisher Guild Digital Award for their Astral Legacies series.

These are internet-linked adventures, where readers join in the quest in each book by searching for the hidden GPS locations to solve puzzles which unlock the thrilling climax to each story.


LoveReading.co.uk Privacy Policy Disclaimer